Learning to blog

I’m not much of a blogger. I like quick info and contact between people and organizations- that’s why I tweet -@firestarteratl. But my experience over this semester of blogging is stretching me and I am enjoying it.

I have developed the most in the art of storytelling. I am learning to share information in a way that is intriguing – mixing professional and personal info in a way that interests people but doesn’t share too much of myself. I’ve learned how to use pictures and other art to express my story clearer. I still have a lot to learn but the exciting thing about this class is I am being guided through it.

I’ve been introduced to some great blogs.

Kivi Miller has provided some great advice for me through my process. She’s taught me to ask so what? and who cares?. Her articles guide me into how to frame my content to answer these questions to make my post relevant and easy to read.

One of my favorite blogs to keep me up-to-date with the nonprofit development is the Nonprofit Technology Network. They provide great research to help your organization keep up with the times

I’ve learned that blogging is an adventure and you have to just keep doing it. Even when you don’t know what to say, you have to keep listening and writing. It is not what I expected, because I am enjoying it. In the past, I have had a hard time finding the balance between saying too much and saying too little. Having guidance through this process has helped me to share the right amount to actually make my work interesting.

The best thing I’m learning is that although social media is AWESOME, it’s a tool- an awesome tool to share our stories- but it is not the answer to your nonprofits isolation and lack of communication and development. http://blog.rally.org/twitter-and-linkedin-and-facebook-oh-my-%E2%80%93-takeaways-from-social-media-for-nonprofits/

thanks!
Hannah

One thought on “Learning to blog

  1. Hannah,

    Great post! The posts from rally.org are great and it’s one I don’t have in my list. Thanks for bringing it to our attention. It’s a great blog. It’s also an example of how a company that markets a product to a nonprofit also uses it’s blog to help, support and educate nonprofits. It’s a bit like frogloop – blog for a data management product. Good work and good ah-hahs.

Leave a Reply

